1337 History


Diaryland
First
Back
Today
Next
Archives
Guestbook


Webcomics, etc


Ctrl-Alt-Del
Real Life
Penny Arcade
Little Gamers
Something Awful

Spring Party Weekend 2005

Last year there were stages and barbecues up all over campus all weekend. This year not much really happened of note. Friday night was the high point of the weekend, I suspect, with loud partying and such that lasted into the wee hours of the morning. Now, I could just be coming to this conclusion because I spent the better part of the weekend holed up in my room, but I /did/ have the window open. For what it's worth.

Thursday night I saw the first of the Spring Party Weekend bits of interest: a naked man running across the street with a torch. He was greeted by a crowd of cheering supporters, who then took his torch and set something on fire. I was going up the hill to dinner at the time and honestly can't say what they were doing. Or was I going for a smoothie? I think it was the latter. Can't remember now. And it may have been Wendesday, not Thursday. In any event, it was dark and there was a naked man with a torch. Very exciting.

Friday night was your usual loud music, louder yelling, and strong odor of alcohol if you set foot outside the door. It was a nice evening though, so I kept the window open. Didn't go to work, but that's because I ate dinner with the guys. Was /hoping/ to hang out and play Katamari Damacy or DDR for a bit, but neither of the guys seemed interesting. Ah well.

Saturday I left my room for dinner after being unable to get into contact with the guys. I was hungry. My stomach demanded filling. The food at Frank was actually good for once- jalapeno poppers and corn nuggets. And build your own pizza, which somehow turned into a calzone by the time I got into line. In any event, it was something like five thirty in the afternoon and I ended up in line between a guy and his mate (who had a very interesting speech impediment. I spent most of my time in line trying to figure out what was causing it.). Some more people got into line behind us and we waited.

Over the serving line at the pizza station is a jar with some red confetti in it. The kid behind me said something about just wanting to take it out of the jar and throw it around because confetti is fun, and the girl behind /him/ agreed. And then decided that it would be A_Good_Idea to start throwing the food on her plate. Because I guess pretzel bites are like confetti? The girl tried to convince me and the guy ahead of me that food should be thrown. Guy behind me left when she started getting touchy feely. I wanted my pizza, dammit, so I stayed.

And I ended up getting hugged, petted, etc by a very drunk girl who stank of liquor. *shudder* I really dislike people that can't control themselves. But anyway, the pizzas were finished, I took mine, and skittered away like a bat out of hell. My usual spot in the cafeteria was blocked off, so I went to my other spot (it has a nice window). Alas, Drunk Girl and her cronies were there. And they decided it would be fun to go to other tables and make nicey with food.

I left before I finished my food because I didn't want to have to deal with her or her friends coming over and trying to make nice. *shudder* Really really really really dislike people like that. Rule of thumb: even if it's a placid Spring Party Weekend, don't leave your room if you don't absolutely have to.

We've had gorgeous weather all weekend, and there've been many games of basketball played on the court outside my window. Sometimes they get really loud and scary, but that's why we have headphones, right? Today wasn't so bad. Yesterday though, I thought they were going to kill someone. "Suck it motherfucker! I'll kick your ass, bitch!" etc. I really don't understand people sometimes.

Thought about going out and doing some writing, but decided not to. Didn't want to be bothered, see. The lair is much more cozy for writing and that sort of thing.

Which does little to explain why I still don't have any of my Japanese letter written. *sigh* Just have to throw /something/ together, right? Right.

In other news, I downloaded Lemuria and Sirius B by Therion from iTunes yesterday. They are sexy. iTunes is going to be the death of my checking account, I think. Between that and the passport...heh. It won't take too long to go through my tax rebate check (almost 500 bucks whee!). I'm saving some money to get a Gamecube when I go home, and I'm thinking of blowing some of my cash on GBA cartridges. We'll see. Guess I could just save it for this summer and put it towards my home network. Or rebuilding Tofu. He wants a new video card, yes he does. And more RAM. And a new harddrive...

Write! Yes. I shall write. And listen to music. And try not to puke up my "omgwtfbbq why did I get so much?" sundae. Yay Frank Dining Hall!

I should be smacked for saying that. Rock on.


Weather


Sunny, clear, warm... and I spent it inside. =/


Music


"Waitin' for Katie" - Benny Goodman


Books and Games


Friendly Pancake


Recent Entries


Finding a topic and sticking to it - 11 April 2005
Spring Party Weekend 2005 - 10 April 2005
Friday Wrap-Up - 08 April 2005
On a scale of one to ten, this day was ground assmeats. - 07 April 2005
Another Wednesday down. - 06 April 2005

This entry was posted on 10 April 2005 at 7:34 PM